Welcome to the String Young Artist Class!

We invited you to perform a selected piece(s) of your choice, as well as the required concerto movement for your respective instrument (listed below). This class requires participation in both sections.

  • Entry Fee for Young Artist Class is $100
  • The Young Artist Participant must be between the ages of 16 and 29, as of May 1st prior to the festival.
  • Performance Requirements for this class are as follows: (see below for section details)
    • S1A – Personal Choice Solo
    • S1B – Required Repertoire

The winner, with a grade of at least 97, will receive an award of $500 and must be available to play with the Spokane Symphony Orchestra at the Young Artist Concert. The concert will be on Thursday May 16, 2024 with a rehearsal on either Tuesday or Wednesday (May 14 or 15, 2024).

  • Gold Medal Prize – $500


A teacher may not accompany their own student in this class.

Young Artist winners are not eligible to compete as a Young Artist in the same division in any subsequent festival.

Young Artist participants may not participate in multiple Young Artist divisions in the same festival year. Young Artist participants may participate in Adjudicator Choice classes, however they will not be eligible for an Adjudicator Choice Award if they have been selected as winner in their Young Artist class.

See Rules and Regulations on the Festival page.

S1A String Young Artist Personal Choice Section

Memorization is required.

Participants are allowed to play any piece that they feel best displays their musical ability and artistry.

This piece may not be played in any other class.

Time Limit: Selection must be between 4 and 10 minutes in length.

Note: If the required piece is a movement from a concerto, the personal choice piece should not be another movement from that work.

S1B String Young Artist Required Repertoire Section

Young Artist required piece must be memorized.

Young Artist Required Repertoire:

  • Violin—Concerto No. 3, Mvt. 1-Allegro non troppo – Camille Saint-Saens
  • Viola—Concerto in G Minor, Mvt. 1 – Appassionato – Moderato – Cecil Forsyth
  • Cello—Concerto in d minor, Mvt. 1 – Prélude: Lento – Allegro maestoso – Edouard Lalo
  • Bass—Concerto Op. 3, Mvt. 1 – Allegro – Serge Koussevitzky (may be played either in E minor or F# minor)